You are my Sunshine

Danny ran into the large open warehouse and froze when he saw the crumpled figure of his friend on the floor.

“Sam!” He shouted and dropped his flashlight, running to him. He dropped to his knees and pulled him into his arms.

Sam’s eyes fluttered and he coughed softly, blood dripping down his chin, “Hey, Danny.”

Tears were streaming down Danny’s face and his hands scrambled for his satellite phone.

Sam covered his hands and shook his head, “No, Danny, don’t. It’s over.”

“No, Sam, no,” Danny sobbed and pressed his forehead to Sam’s.

Sam smiled weakly and tilted his head to softly press his lips to Danny’s, “Shh, Baby, shh it’s okay.”

Danny’s whole body was shaking as he held Sam to his chest, “No, Sam, please don’t die.”

Sam cupped his cheek and sung softly, “You are my sunshine, my only sunshine. You make me happy when skies are gray. You never know, dear, how much I love you. Please don’t take my sunshine away.”

Danny sobbed and clung tighter to Sam as he continued to sing softly.

“The other night, dear, as I lay sleeping. I dreamt I held you in my arms. When I awoke, dear, I was mistaken. So I hung my head, and I cried,” Sam gasped and choked before continuing. “You are my sunshine, my only sunshine. You make me happy when skies are gray. You never know, dear, how much I love you. Please don’t take my sunshine away.”

Danny knelt on the ground, cling to Dean and shaking softly. Listening to his best friend sing softly.

“I’ll always love you and make you happy. If you will only say the same. But if you leave me to love another. You’ll regret it all one day,” Sam was gasping for air and his eyelids drooped. “You are my sunshine, my only sunshine. You make me happy when skies are gray. You never know, dear, how much I love you. Please don’t take my sunshine away…”

Sam gasped and choked on his last breath. Danny felt his hand slip from his cheek and sobbed out to Sam’s lifeless body, “Please don’t take my sunshine away…”

Leave a Reply

